La Kretz Innovation Campus Earns Prestigious Rudy Bruner Silver Medal for Urban Excellence

LOS ANGELES (June 15, 2017) - The Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence (RBA), announced its 2017 Gold and Silver Medalists, marking thirty years of honoring innovative urban placemaking. The biennial award celebrates transformative places distinguished by physical design and contributions to the economic, environmental and social vitality of America’s cities. John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects' La Kretz Innovation Campus was one of five finalists, and was awarded a Silver Medal as well as $10,000 to continue its mission.

“The 2017 RBA medalists illustrate the transformative power of design in creating places that bring people together and lift the human spirit,” says RBA Founder Simeon Bruner.

Rudy Bruner Award entries are completed projects across the contiguous United States. Finalists and medalists are determined through an in-depth evaluation process by the selection committee involving input from the award application, site visits, interviews with project participants and community members, and committee discussions.  A nationwide committee of urban experts determined the winners from among five finalists, naming SteelStacks Arts and Cultural Campus in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the Gold Medalist and recipient of $50,000 to enhance the project. 

A Metropolis magazine blog series chronicles the RBA process, site visits, and events to come. The RBA will also produce detailed case studies about this biennial’s five winning projects including findings, lessons learned, and highlights from the selection committee’s discussions. The case studies will be published online and in book form in 2018 as a resource for educators, practitioners, and students. Case studies about all past RBA winners are available on the RBA website. 

John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects is the only submitting firm in the award's history to have two of their projects selected as finalists. Their LA Design Center was awarded a Rudy Bruner Silver Medal in 2007.